News

Londonblog by Maxima: "Only 5 more weeks until Christmas!"

Hi, my name is Maxima and I am 17 years old. I have been living in London for 3 months now and it has been a very exciting time so far.

At the beginning of this semester,

where I was in school every day, I could enjoy summer in London, did a lot of sightseeing and went to festivals and parks with my friends. As our lessons were only until 15.40pm, we had a lot of free time, which was very good as I got to see a lot of places in London right at the beginning.

 

Now, a normal weekday consists of going to work at 9am and finishing work at 5.30pm. I am doing my internship in the Head Office of the language school St Giles at London Central, which is located near Russel Square. I work together with Delaya and we are responsible for the inbox of our company, which means we answer all the emails that are coming through during the day.

 

This includes mostly replying to enquiries from clients, but also putting together quotes, ordering brochures, signing up agencies who would like to work with St Giles, as well as chatting to clients when they have questions. At first, I was a little bit overwhelmed with the big responsibility I have and how busy the office is every day, as I never had any work experience at this kind of job before. Now, I got used to it and set up my own routine for doing my tasks for the day and answering to the emails coming through the inbox.

 

I am glad that I have a job where I can really expand my skills and take a useful experience with me when I go back to Switzerland. I also think this job is a very good practice and preparation for my apprenticeship in Switzerland and will make things easier there.

 

My journey from my workplace to my home takes around 45 minutes. Most of the time I am so tired from work, that I go straight home, where I have dinner with my host family. I live with my `host mother` Patricia and my `host sister` Ece. They are both very kind and I get on well with them.

 

On the weekends, I like to spend time with my host sister and my friends from Switzerland, but I also learned to enjoy spending time by myself and getting to know new people.

 

My favourite places in London are Southbank and Carnaby street. Carnaby street is right next to Oxford street, where the Christmas lights got turned on this week! It looks very nice and totally different from what we see in Switzerland.

 

What I like about London is, that it is so divers. You can enjoy Oxford street, Piccadilly Circus, Camden Town and all these famous and crowded places, but there are also a lot of more quiet places like Alexandra park, Kew Gardens, and a lot of spots that are very different from what people expect to see in London. It only takes about 30 minutes to get out of the city centre and see a totally different lifestyle and environment from London.

 

What I also like, is to be surrounded by nationalities from all over the world every day. Because it is such a big city with all these different and interesting kinds of people, it feels so different to live here, compared to Switzerland. Like a lot of my classmates already mentioned in their blogs, I feel like people do not judge so easily, simply because it is not even possible in such a big city. But I do have to say that it gets too much for me at times, because almost everything is crowded literally all the time.

 

Summarising my time here, I can say that I am very happy to have the opportunity to experience living, working, studying as well as enjoying a lot of free time in London. At the same time, I am looking forward to going back home and getting to see all my friends and family again for Christmas.

 

zur Ausbildung Kauffrau/Kaufmann EFZ Business English